Banning Short-Haul Flights

Reasons to ban short-haul flights:

– We’re in a climate crisis.
– They’re truly inefficient as mode of transportation.
– Trains are generally cheaper.
– Trains are often quicker. Airport processing sometimes takes as much time as the flight itself.
– There’s precedent (Austria banned domestic flights that could be travelled in less than 3 hours by train. France wanted a ban on flights with 4-hour train alternatives, but the airline lobby spent enough money to make it just 2.5 hours.)


In the Northeast and Midwest corridors of the U.S., more than 30 domestic airline routes have viable train alternatives.




Map by Jordan Engel. As always, the Decolonial Atlas’ original media can be reused under the Decolonial Media License 0.1.

3 comments

  1. I agree, but… as someone who lives somewhere that is NOT well-served by airplane, I need there to be an option for SOME short-haul flights. Let’s say I need to get to London, England. My home airport is YGK and it only flies to YYZ, which is a 45 minute flight. I would MUCH rather fly YGK – YYZ – LHR than to bring all of my stuff, get on a train, take the train to Toronto (3 hours), then switch lines (15 minutes) and take the LRT from Toronto Union Station to YYZ (20 minutes), then go through airport security and pre-boarding and have to be there 2ish hours before my international flight. And I’m pretty lucky to be on a train line, there are lots of areas around me that don’t even have a train option.

    Like

    • You just blew up the entire premise of this post. Also what about the environmental impact of the thousands of miles of tracks that will need to be laid?

      Like

Leave a comment