Aboriginal Australia


This map indicates the general location of larger groupings of Aboriginal Australians and Torres Strait Islanders, which may include smaller groups such as clans, dialects, or individual languages in a group.

Major locations on the map are listed below.

English place name – Indigenous place name (Indigenous language)

Adelaide – Tarndanya (Kaurna)
Alice Springs – Mparntwe (Arrernte)
Brisbane – Meanjin (Turrbal)
Cairns – Gimuy (Yidiny)
Canberra – Kamberra (Ngunnawal)
Darwin – Garrmalang (Larrakia)
Melbourne – Narrm (Bunwurrung)
Melville Island – Yermalner (Tiwi)
Perth – Boorloo (Noongar)
Sydney – Warrang (Dharug)
Tasmania – lutruwita (palawa kani) *note that palawa kani names do not capitalize the first letter


3 thoughts on “Aboriginal Australia

  1. Pingback: The Decolonial Atlas – Re-imagining the world – oth·er·wise

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s