Cherokee Communities in Northeast Oklahoma

Cherokee Communities in Northeast Oklahoma
Cherokee Communities in Northeast Oklahoma. Source:

The Cherokee Nation (ᏣᎳᎩᎯ ᎠᏰᎵ / Tsalagihi Ayeli) is the largest federally-recognized tribe in the United States with 300,000 enrolled members. Headquartered in the city of Tahlequah (ᏓᎵᏆ), the Cherokee Nation has a tribal jurisdictional area spanning 14 counties in the northeastern corner of Oklahoma – an area where the Cherokee people resettled after being forced from their homeland following the Indian Removal Act of 1830 and subsequent Trail of Tears (ᎨᏥᎧᎲᏓ ᎠᏁᎬᎢ). The map on the left shows rivers, lakes, counties, and Cherokee communities in Northeast Oklahoma labelled in English, while the map on the right is labelled in the Cherokee language (ᏣᎳᎩ ᎦᏬᏂᎯᏍᏗ / Tsalagi Gawonihisdi).

For more Cherokee maps, visit


One comment

  1. Skype has launched its website-dependent buyer beta on the entire world, after
    introducing it broadly within the Usa and You.K. previous this
    four weeks. Skype for Web also now works with Chromebook and Linux for instant text messaging conversation (no video and voice but, those need a connect-in installing).

    The expansion in the beta brings assist for an extended list
    of spoken languages to help you reinforce that global user friendliness


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s